Zahir Khan and Sayed Shirzad added to Afghanistan Test squad

The Afghanistan Cricket Board Selection Committee added chinaman bowler Zahir Khan Pakteen and medium fast bowler Sayed Ahmad Shirzad to Afghanistan’s Test squad for the upcoming only Test match against Ireland in Dehradun.

Chief Selector Dawlat Ahmadzai said: “Both Zahir Khan and Sayed Shirzad have very good bowling records in First-class cricket and have played in the ICC Intercontinental Cup for Afghanistan. We were awaiting Zahir’s fitness report when announcing the initial 14-member Test squad and now that he is fully fit, we have decided to add him to the squad. Sayed Shirzad is added as an additional pacer in the squad to have another bowling option if needed.”

Afghanistan’s 16-member squad for the only Test against Ireland: Asghar Afghan(captain), Mohammad Shahzad (wicket-keeper), Ihsanullah Janat, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Nasir Jamal, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Ikram Alikhail, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Wafadar Momand, Yamin Ahmadzai, Sharafudin Ashraf, Waqar Salamkhail, Zahir Khan and Sayed Shirzad.

Afghanistan’s first home test is scheduled against Ireland from 15-19th March in Dehradun.