Afghanistan triumph over Ireland

A spectacular bowling performance by Rashid Khan and co ensured Afghanistan beat Ireland by 8 wickets in the third ODI to claim the ODI series 2-1. Afghanistan also had won the T20I series 2-0 earlier. This is the first time Afghanistan have beaten Ireland at their own backyard.

Ireland won the toss and elected to bat first in the decider. Rashid Khan was at his best yet again taking 3 wickets in the match while Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib and Aftab Alam chipped in with 2 wickets each. To put icing on the cake, skipper Asghar Afghan also joined the list as he took the important wicket of Gary Wilson to break an important partnership. Ireland were all out and could only manage 124 runs on board.

Having been set a target of 125 runs, Afghanistan lost Mohammad Shahzad early as he was caught at Third man off Boyd Rankin’s bowling. Opening batsman, Ihsanullah Janat batted impressively as he and Rahmat Shah put on a partnership of 50 runs for the second wicket before Shah lost his wicket to Tim Murtagh.

Ihsanullah was joined by left-handed batsman Hashmatullah Shahidi. The duo put on an unbeaten partnership of 74 runs to take Afghanistan home in the 24th over of the innings.

Rashid Khan was declared the man of the series for his eight wickets in the series at an amazing average of 12.00 per wicket.