Latest Updates

Afghanistan Cricket Board hosting Disabled Cricket Series in Kabul

Home / News / International News

Kabul: Afghanistan’s disabled cricket team will be hosting Physically Challenged Cricket Association (PCCAI) India in Kabul from July 22, 2016.

Afghanistan Disable Cricket team is training for the upcoming event at the National Cricket Academy, Kabul under head coach Khaliq Dad Noori and assistant coach Mujahid Zadran and Rozi Khan.

Nasimullah Danish Chairman Afghanistan Cricket Board said, “They all have the required skills needed to win the tournament, but just need some confidence and encouragement.”

“We don’t have the latest equipment that the other teams do; our boys are well trained and will definitely produce good results”, said Shafiq Stanikzai CEO of Afghanistan Cricket Board.

“ACB’s disable cricket team is currently the top side of the world and will give our best to keep this position,” said Dr. Manan Masood, Head of Disable Cricket Team. “We are fully prepared to win the tournament. The players have been training in the National Cricket Academy Kabul and are in form.”

Talented cricketer Shafiqullah Sameem, who plays with one hand, said, “we are very excited as this will be the first tournament of its kind in Afghanistan Kabul.”

Skipper Nabiullah Nabi, who is affected by Polio, told that he is working on motivating the players for the big tournament. All players are very inspired to play for the country”.

The event is being supported by the Swedish Committee for Afghanistan (SCA) in cooperation with the Afghanistan Cricket Board. This Friendship Cup for Afghanistan and India disable will be live broadcasted on Jawan Television, Kabul.

Teams (from)

PwDs Afghanistan: Abdul Saboor, Sheren Agha, Abdullah Liwal, Nabiullah Nabi, Mohammad Ashraf

Hasibullah Kamawal, Zubair Zadran, Ikramullah . Mohammad Yusaf, Obaid Akbar, Mohammad Ullah

Tufail Khan, Abdullah Jabarkhil, Shafiqullah Saleem, Jamil Shah

PCCAI India: Ravindra Narayan Patil, Debavrata Roy, Vikrant Ravindra Keni, Omveer Singh, Ravindra Gopinath Sante, Manish Kumar, Iqbal Khan, Vijay Kant Tiwari, Gurudas Ramdas Raut, Rajeshpandurang Rane, Yashpal Sharma, Tushar Paul, Abdul Khalek, Sandeep, Utpal Majumdar (Playing Coach)



1st T20: July 22, 2016 in Alokozay – Kabul International Cricket Stadium, Kabul

2nd T20: July 23, 2016 in Alokozay – Kabul International Cricket Stadium, Kabul

3rd T20:  July 25 12, 2016 in Alokozay – Kabul International Cricket Stadium, Kabul

Photo Stream