Latest Updates

Nawroz Mangal Depart for Qatar National Day Celebration Match

Home / News / International News

Star cricketers across the globe will be participating in a 50-over match and a Twenty20 game, which is scheduled on December 16 in Doha, Qatar.

The T20 match has been scheduled to be played on 16th December while the One-Day game will be played on 18th December with both matches to be played in Asian Town Cricket Stadium.

Afghanistan star batsmen Nawroz Mangal, who is famous in sub-continent, will be the major attraction in the much-awaited match between World XI and Qatar XI.

“Sharing dressing room with international stars, and playing with them will guide the local players, who can learn experience and become improved cricketers,” Nasimullah Danish Chairman of Afghanistan Cricket Board said.

Shafiqullah Stinakzai, the chief executive officer of ACB, said it is a matter of pride for Afghanistan that one of our players has been selected to play in Qatar National Day Celebration match.

Nawroz Mangal, National Team player of Afghanistan Cricket Team, appeared in 215 matches in domestic and International for Afghanistan while spreading his career over 7 years.

Nawroz Mangal said, “This is an honor for me to represent Afghanistan on this platform and opportunity for me to share the dressing room, with world star cricketers participating in this match.”

“I am delighted to be joining so many cricketing superstars at Doha Qatar, some of the world’s finest cricketers have been selected for this match” Nawroz Mangal added.

Former England wicket-keeper Paul Nixon will be the coach of World Stars and former Pakistan captain Aamir Sohail will do his duty as the team manager.

Qatar Stars will be mentored by former Pakistan all-rounder Abdul Razzaq, wicket-keeper batsman Kamran Akmal, and fast bowler Mohammad Irfan.

With both exhibition games to be scheduled at the 12,000-capacity Asian Town Cricket Stadium, the One-day match will be played on 18th of December.

World XI includes Jerome Taylor and Kesrick Williams from West Indies, Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi, Yusuf Pathan, Mohammad Kaif, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Farveez Maharoof, Chaminda Vaas, Nawroz Mangal, Graham Onions and Mohammad Ashraful.

Here’s the list of international cricketers that were nominated for the event which includes former ones:

Nawroz Mangal from Afghanistan, Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Salman Butt, Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Akmal, Muhammad Sami, Saeed Ajmal and Fawad Alam from Pakistan. Mohammad Kaif, Yusuf Pathan from India. Jerome Taylor, Kesrick Williams from West Indies, Herschelle Gibbs, Imran Tahir from South Africa. Chaminda Vaas, Farveez Maharoof from Sri Lanka. Liam Plunkett, Graham Onions from England, and Mohammad Ashraful from Bangladesh

Photo Stream