Latest Updates

Under-19 Squads Announced for final round of Training Camp Ahead of ICC Asia Cup, 2016

Home / News / International News

The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) today announces 20 player’s squads for final round of training camp ahead of 2016 ICC Under-19 Asia Cup (ODI) to be held in Mumbai India, from November 2, 2016.

There are eight (8) teams competing in the Asia Cup, 2016 competition. The participating teams are Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Nepal, Malaysia and Singapore.

Right-arm medium-fast Naveen Ul Haq, 17 will be captaining the Afghanistan Under-19 team and Shams Karokhel vice-captain in ICC Asia Cup starting from December 8.

“Afghanistan Under-19 team will be departing for Sri Lanka on December 1, 2016 to familiar with weather condition and play some practice matches in Sri Lanka.” said team manager Naveed Sayam Kakar.

“I am excited to have talented players like Qais Ahmad, Zahir Khan, Nasar Wahdat, Darwish, Shams Karokhel and Naveen Ul Haq and the future stars of Afghan Cricket. It is a chance for these players to showcase their potential and ability while also competing for the opportunity to progress into next Afghanistan national International contest”.

"The squad has been selected keeping in mind the conditions and the recent performances of players in domestic tours. The team is a fine blend of experience and youth and the selectors believe that team will do well in both tournaments." Dawlat Ahmadzai, Under-19 coach and Head of selection committee.

Afghanistan celebrate reaching the Plate final with a fantastic winning team selfie!

Naveen Ul Haq, 17 Right-arm medium-fast reveals his Bangladesh and domestic league Shpageeza experiences, a tour that helped him gain greater confidence of playing with and against experienced international players on a bigger stage.

Shams Karokhel, 16 is Right-arm offbreak and Qais Ahmad, 16 leg-spin all-rounder were also rewarded for their showings at domestic level.

All matches are being played at Sri Lanka and will be live scored through Cricket.Af. Final fixture and squad for ICC Asia Cup, 2016 will be announced on www.Cricket.Af

Afghanistan Under -19 SQUADS:

Naveen Ul Haq (C), Shams Karokhil (VC), Zubair, Naweed Obaid, Ibrahim Zadran, Tariq Stanikzai, Perwiz Malikzai, Darwish, Nisar Wahdat, Imran Mohammadi, Zahid Khan, Ikram Faizi (WK), Mujeeb, Qais Ahmad, Yousaf Zazai, Wafadar, Asmat Alam, Zahir Khan, Tamim, Roheed.

Coach: Dawlat Ahmadzai

Photo Stream